Filing a U-Haul Complaint

My HORRIBLE U-HAUL STORY is essentially the exact content of a demand letter dated 10/3/03, which I sent to:

U-HAUL INTERNATIONAL, INC.
2727 NORTH CENTRAL AVENUE, PHOENIX, AZ 85004

I demanded that U-HAUL reimburse me for my out-of-pocket expenses (with attached receipts) and an additional $5000 to compensate me for my pain and suffering. Additionally, I sent a letter to my credit card company protesting the charge for the U-HAUL RENTAL which was eventually refunded.

Within a week, I received a letter from a claim representative of REPUBLIC WESTERN INSURANCE COMPANY, insurer for U-HAUL. After about two months of phone tag with the representative, I delivered my story over the phone and waited for an offer to roll in. The U-HAUL insurer paid my out-of-pocket expenses very quickly, and even offered to pay for any doctor visits I may need to make in connection with the U-HAUL TRUCK BREAKDOWN.

Around January of 2004, I received a written offer of $1000 to settle my claim against U-HAUL. I sat on the offer for about a month, and in February of 2004, I accepted the offer.

As of late March, 2004 I have received a response to my acceptance of the settlement offer made to me by U-HAUL’S insurer. I have signed a standard release in order to secure my settlement. Unfortunately, I am not able to disclose the terms of the settlement.

On or about 3/29/04, I received my settlement check from U-HAUL in reference to my claim against them for their horrible treatment of me when their truck broke down and almost caused my death. See below.

U-Haul claim settlement check.  Woohoo!!  U-Haul Sucks.

U-Haul claim settlement check.

Have you filed a complaint against U-Haul?  Tell us about it below, or send us an email.

17 Responses to “Filing a U-Haul Complaint”

  1. tammy johnson says:

    On 7/23/2013 I arrived for my scheduled appointment for wiring & trailer mounting @ Uhaul moving & storage of kalamazoo 1004 portage kalamazoo mi 49001 (269) 345-7141. the reservation was originally scheduled for 9am, but on 6/7/22 Stacey (store manager) called & changed the time from 9am to 3pm. Although my paper work issued from uhaul on 7/9/16 states 9am. when I arrived on 7/23/24 for my wiring & mounting @ 3pm the following staff members were present; Lisa – cashier christopher – Anthony – cashier clerk @ 3:45 Christopher finally attempted to install the wiring he was unacknowledged & did not know how to do the work, after 2 1/2 hours & dismantling the back of my Audi Q7 suv Christopher called Stacey (general manager) @ 5:20 pm who came in to assist once she arrived in flip flopps & a sun dress to help she also was inexperienced and did not know how to complete the work. @ 7:20 pm she finally stated the suv had existing wiring & they would be completing the work asap. After having 2 inexperienced workers work on my suv it was discovered by Uhaul in Las Vegas NV 900 e. karen that the trailer safety chains were not connected to the suv (pictures were taken). I drove 2,205 miles across country with an extreme safety hazard. The wiring was not connected therefore the lights did not work on the trailer. I believe this was a deliberate act on Stacey, Lisa, & Christopher end. the original customer service was Extremely poor. they lacked knowledge and compassion for a mistake on their end. I made a reservation in person, arrived on time, and i was treated like crap. This could have been a fatal situation due to lack of experienced technicians wiring & mounting a vehicle with knowledge that is was a cross country trip. I am requesting a full refund of $183.38 to be refunded for the auto transport. I have pictures and all original paper work issued from uhaul to support this claim.

  2. Nena Zamora says:

    I have a terrible situation that is happening to me. I rented a Uhaul
    And it was towed away and now I’m facing grand theft
    Charges against me.

  3. Akatamaneni says:

    I did not purchase the protection insurance while renting the truck, I dropped of with in the schedule. i received a call from the guy who rented me the truck saying there is a damage on the vehicle. I had 3 guys who helped me during my shot 3 km move. I even filled up gas in the same location I rented it from, when i asked him to check the cameras when I’m fueling he said he don’t have any cameras.
    I just called Uhaul and made a note in my account.
    I’m not charged yet but soon might be.
    Will I receive a call about the damages?
    I have seen some posts saying its a “punishment” for not taking their insurance.
    How to proceed and whats the best thing to do at this point?

  4. Yadira BG says:

    I wrecked a car parked in a corner in a NO parking space while driving a 26′ Uhaul truck on 8/16. I paid $14.00/day for their insurance coverage, still I’m required by Uhaul’s ins. Repwest to provide my personal ins. info. They sent me a form to complete with my ins. information basically authorizing Repwest with my signature to contact them. So I signed nothing. I told the rep unless I have more information from them such as the cost of the damages and how much the $14.00 premium was really worth, I wasn’t cooperating with them. If they’re attempting to collect money from me and/or my personal insurance, how would they deny me that information? According to them when I signed the rental contract, I agreed to having my personal insurance as the primary coverage in case of a claim. Then why offering insurance in the first place? I just can’t understand how it helps the consumer if in the end, we will not only be hunted by Repwest but by our insurance too because Repwest will make sure if you don’t sign the form, they will go behind your back and tell your insurance on your behalf. I was never offered Safemove Plus insurance at the time of renting the truck. The lady only asked ‘do you want insurance?’ and I said yes. That’s all they tell you about insurance. Nothing about what options you have or that Safemove Plus covers a lot more and is a better option than useless Safemove etc. So sign the contract thinking that you’ll have no problems if something happens because that’s what their insurance is for, to give you peace of mind. Well that’s not true. So what are my rights here? A $14.00/day insurance premium is about $420.00 mo. but it won’t cover $4,700.00 in damages? Then why in the world is their insurance even offered? To make them richer is the only answer to that. Why is it that at the renting location you are not informed about the insurance options available? The contract sure doesn’t say anything about it so, how would you know? Other consumers with complaints say that it doesn’t matter what your accident happened whether you’re at fault or not, they’ll find a reason to make you and/or your insurance pay for the damages. Why isn’t this all over the news so that innocent people are aware of Uhaul’s nasty practices? My insurance is probably would go up and it wasn’t even my fault. The police officer didn’t even give me a ticket. I have contacted a few insurance attorneys and I’m waiting on a call back. I rather pay a legal firm than these clowns. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT rent from Uhaul please.

  5. Maria says:

    OMG! This is so true. I worked as a reservation manager @763 in Atlanta Georgia and B the beast never trained me and basically just said “go do it”!

    First off, the description for this position is understated, when in actuality it entails running the whole d**m office for $10.00 an hour.

    B was jealous of me and used her position to harass and “call me out” on procedural directives when she never told me all that was involved in the “so called” 36 minutes of actual training time that she spent with me.

    Suddenly I was suppose to know everything. The lack of company directives for this position makes anyone hired an easy target.

    I also filed a complaint against her, which the company “swept” under the rug!

    Be forewarned!

  6. Tom says:

    I read some of the comments that others had left and figured no way could happen to me, but boy was I wrong! Short story of a bad experience. First I reserved a trailer at a local gas station 3 weeks in advance of my needed date. On the day before the pick up, I considered getting a larger trailer and logged into my Uhaul confirmation page. Turns out the local gas station was no longer linked to UHaul. Was never notified and when I called to get a new location, I was promised a call back in 1/2 hour from a rep in their traffic department. They of course never called me. So I found another trailer on my own and reserved it for the next day. 6 hours later I got a call telling me the trailer had been rented to someone else because my order was not entered quick enough into the reservation system. It is now 15 hours before I need to pick it up and I am back to square 1. So I call the local traffic guys back and complain. They send me a $50 voucher for my troubles and locate another trailer. I use the trailer and return it and submit the $50 voucher for the $15 rental. Voucher is not applied and I am disputing the charge on my credit card. 3 strikes and you are out Mr U Haul!

  7. Tony Ruiz says:

    I’ve got a whopper of an abuse case; was even threatened with death and a beating. I’m 73 and rented 3 trucks for my move from CA to AZ. The air conditioning went out on the lead truck, the one I was riding in, as we filled up to make the drive. I suffered indescribably and have respiratory and vision problems ending in a heart attack last week. I couldn’t reach their ‘hotline’ until the dealer finally called for me and they called me.

    I was reaching the Palm Springs area, with my driver and dogs suffering; we even had to turn on the heater full force to avoid overheating. Amazing. They directed me to their Palm Desert area shop, where the owner stopped everything to work on ‘my’ truck, resented it and it showed. He wouldn’t tell me anything about his progress, then after about 4 hours I called Uhaul to tell him to release the truck; I could wait no longer. He threatened my life then said he would ‘beat me up’ when I left his ‘office’. I called the cops for police escort off the premises.

    The grades out of Phoenix were as bad, and I moved the dogs to the 2nd truck back; they were dying, and it took a lot of box moving but we saved them. We were extremely late arriving in Chino Hills, I had to hire a LaboReady crew to offload and send the drivers back in an expensive Avis one-way rental. We had go stay overnight in a hotel but got no rest. The entire schedule was woven to include my wife driving a truck and trailer with our livestock but that went all to hell also, needless to say. It was an absolute fiasco, and physically harmful at many levels.

    The ‘regional manager’ doesn’t respond to my emails or calls and I’m going after them in Riverside CA Superior Court for actual and punitive damages.

    Can you help me post this on your site?

    Tony & Lynda Ruiz
    775 N Son Shine
    POB 5309
    Chino Valley AZ 86323
    951-237-1275

  8. Victoria Mccall says:

    From: McCall, Victoria E SBYVAMC

    Sent: Monday, June 11, 2012 9:00 AM

    To:
    Cc: McCall, Victoria E SBYVAMC

    Subject: Complaint at your facility on Ashley Rd in Charlotte N.C.

    I would like to report several complaints on one of your facilities, My friend and I arrived at your facility on Ashley Rd in Charlotte N.C., at that time we rented a storage space, which held a Coach, Loveseat, Recliner, Lamps, and an area rug, we had to sign a contract and we were given a swipe key and we also were given a lock for his storage, at the time the young man was giving us the paperwork I asked him about the security of your facility he told me that it was secured and that the facility was monitored, he never mentioned only the entrance doors are truly monitored, and he then pointed up at the security screen that was in the office attached to the wall, feeling assured that my friend’s things were secure and protected we accepted the contract and the swipe key, we drove around to the back to unload his things we were given storage space I believe #1209, we arrived at the storage door and realize that storage space had been taken, we went back up to the front and spoke to the young man who had just assigned us that particular unit, at that time he looked on the computer and assigned us storage unit #1098, at that time we questioned his competency, how could you assign a unit that was already occupied and not be aware of this, at that time I became hesitant but still we decided to stay with your company, we already had all his belongings off the truck and ready to be loaded, please keep in mind my friend is a “DISABLED VETERAN” so he was paying two people to help move, because he is unable to load and unload and they were charging by the hour, the young man walked back to the storage area while we waited up front, he came back and told us he was assigning another unit and for us not to worry he was going to complete all the paperwork, on the new unit. On 6-8-2012 I received a call from someone at U haul stating that my friend’s storage unit was locked in the open position, at that time I let him know that my friend was out of town and I did not have access, the young man stated they wanted him to come check to see “IF any of his items were stolen.” My friend arrived back in town Sunday morning 6-10-2012 and we went straight to the storage facility, we went to his unit unlocked the door and everything he owned in his life was stolen. I have several issues that have come to mind about your facility……

    1. Why were we told the facility was monitored, it was only told to else at the time his stuff was stolen that ONLY THE FRONT ENTRANCE TO THE STORAGE UNITS ARE TRULY MONITORED……

    2. I asked if we could see the security tape…..we were denied that also, your employee stated he “DIDN’T HAVE TIME TO GO THROUGH MONTHS AND MONTHS OF TAPE”……I beg his pardon since my Friend’s things were only in storage for about three weeks.

    3. We weren’t shown any type of respect, in fact the attitude your staff displayed was the “Whatever you lost out” and this was said by one of your employees whose name I believe is Corey, though I’m not sure, but the lack of respect and the traffic that goes through that place is absurd.

    4. We will be going to Action 9 with this complaint.

    5. If the storage was locked in the open position as your employee stated….then please explain what is the proper protocol when someone is unable to arrive at the time…..their thing’s aren’t secured until their able to arrive.

    6. Why weren’t we contacted before three weeks.

    I would hope that you would find another security measure for your company and more professional staff, like I stated earlier in this letter my friend is a DISABLED VETERAN who has been to war and fought for his country, and to be treated the way your company has treated him is appalling, he has nothing now. We know that unit was locked we all checked and double checked it

  9. Chyna says:

    I reserved a U-haul April 11 2011 from London Ontario I was given a confirmation number everything was good! On June 27 U-haul in Hamilton Ontario calls me to tell me they don’t have a U-Haul for me in London Ontario I must go pick one up In Melbourne 38km away June 29 my moving date! I’m ticked off why reserve 2 months in advance with a confirmation #?

  10. Priscilla says:

    PLEASE READ THIS>>> I NEED HELP
    Here’s my story, I started working there in Sept. of ’10…
    On March 10th of this year. I went to work, at U-haul, I was a custodian in the storage place, which by the way in the winter time is freezing, when its supposed to be heated & customers pay like 10 dollars extra for that, anyways, So I do the usually routine cleaning as usual. The storage manager calls me down to the Center 2hrs early to start cleaning. ok so I go down no questions asked. Then she calls me into the general managers office. & fires me! I was never given a verbal warning about my performance, written warning, not even pulled to the side to be corrected about anything. never. I asked why I am being fired and she made up some bs excuse about something I even asked a specific date and she couldnt remember. she said ” well im not sure exactly when it was but yea…” wtf is that?! they are so UNPROFESSIONAL!!! the week before I had gotten fired I was only scheduled for two days with 12 hrs total for the week. so when I came in I asked my managers what was going on? are they going to fire me or what?… Their responses were ” NO, we like you, we like the way you work and have never had any problems with you, there must have been a mix up in the schedule or something but we apologize”
    so how did we have that conversation one week, the next they fired me with really no excuse. plus I didnt sign any paper they had me escorted out like I was a criminal. I took that to the president Brandon something idk his last name but we had a meeting & They offered me a position again, making collection calls and answering the phone. ok SO now this whole week of April 3rd to April 9th they have not given me any hours. literally I am still “employed by these idiots with 0rhs same for next week. That’s two weeks with 0hrs. they wont call me back. i leave messages and no one ever calls back… & they wont fire me. so Does Anyone Have any advice for me? I would want to file a complaint but not sure how to do so. I feel i am being treated very unfairly and being taken advantage of. I’m sure i am not the first but can some please help me?

    • Renee says:

      U-Haul has most definitely broken labor laws. I would suggest you file a complaint with your state’s labor relations office and/or unemployment compensation office. AND…always, always document everything…dates, times, who you spoke with and about what and who said what.

  11. Mario Micallef says:

    I rented a trailer and it came off hitting my 2001 chevy blazer making more than 2000.oo dollars in damage and they refuse to do anything about it..were can i find a lawyer that will sue them??

    • UHaul Sucks says:

      Have you tried the local phone book for an attorney? Nevertheless, a low-cost first step would be to send a demand letter to U-Haul for the damages, just as I did. All the steps are detailed on this blog.

  12. Shelby Boughman says:

    I filed a complaint more or less on one specific location, not the U-Haul company itself. I had rented a truck from a U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer (Apar) in Ashland, Ohio. I have short-term memory issues so I forgot I had the key in my pocket at drop off and left. The next day when I called the apologize, the manager was very rude to me, lied to me about his rental schedule, and threatened to red flag my account, which he did not do.

  13. Don Bader says:

    I requested a 10 foot truck two weeks in advance, I was given and charged for a 17 foot truck. The tank registered 11/16 when received at Courtenay, BC, the fuel gauge registered 1/2 when I got to Boise, ID; when I fueled the truck the gauge did not move, therefore I filled the tank before returning the truck in Boise. The company would not reimburse me for the excess gasoline or for the excess charge for not giving me a truck larger than I requested. I requested the truck in time for the agent in Courtenay to get me the size I wanted, I feel U-Haul should reimburse me for their over sites. I am not requesting reimbursement for the excess fuel the larger truck used or the added trouble a longer truck caused especially driving through Seattle.

  14. Misty M says:

    My company usually uses Penske, but they did not have a dolly to tow my brand new SUV. I contacted Uhaul corporate accounts to set up an account for our company. Nothing was done right so it wasn’t ready in time to use the account. I had reserved a 24ft truck, a dolly and a 12ft trailer. When I picked them up we had a discussion about the insurance, we thought the dolly would be covered under the 24ft truck. I only ended up getting Uhauls insurance on the 24ft truck and the trailer. I was going 300 miles. At 290 miles I was driving behind the truck towing my SUV and the dolly came apart. I literally saw it fall apart, the rear wheel taillight and wheel well came off and hit my windshield. It flew off and nearly caused a pileup on the interstate. Our little caravan stopped and we assessed the damage. The car being towed had a dent and the car I was driving had a cracked windshield. I called Uhaul roadside assistance. The assembly had taken some important parts with it when it came apart and the ramps were now dragging. We went back and forth with Uhaul about if I wanted to risk my life and continue using it. I refused. They argued with me. I got sick of being on the road. I pulled my car off and loaded the dolly up on a flatbed and got it the last 10 miles. Uhaul decided they would pick it up the next day. Fine. I returned the truck and trailer. The guy at the rental place I returned them to told me they needed to be washed before I returned them or I would be charged. Mind you I am in a tiny town in Iowa in January and the roads are pure slush and mud. I asked where the nearest car wash is. He told me 30 miles away. How would it make it back staying clean? He showed me the fine print but he did not charge me. He told me that Uhaul would never agree to pick anything up, they didn’t care how much of a hazard it is, it should be dragged in. He ended up picking it up the next day, he decided the bolts vibrated out. He said it happens. I called Uhaul and got transferred around and around, finally got someone who had me repeat my story twice and read it back to me. I had to call and call to see what was going on. My credit card was then charged for “dolly repairs” and the pickup. I called and got attitude every time, Julie in Des Moines told me at one point that the place I rented it (Coon Rapids, Mn) made the decisions on charging me, they told her it had gotten an exhaustive check in the shop and there was nothing they would do for me, the bolts would never come out on their own unless they had been purposely loosened. I called the place I rented it from and told her what she said. They laughed and said Des Moines made the decisions, she had called and asked If I took the trailer insurance and they saw it hooked up. They said no to the insurance and yes they saw it hooked up. I asked if they really thoroughly checked it out in the shop and they said no, I asked if bolts come out, they said stuff happens. I called Julie back (my friend is also calling her and she ducks both of us quite a bit) and got another girl there who had a weird conversation with me. She said she faxed me a copy of everything that I was charged so she didn’t see a problem. I told her I didn’t say I didn’t get the fax, I was just disputing what I was actually charged by them. She kept repeating that I shouldn’t have an issue, she sent a fax with the charges. Finally I got Julie, I told her what Coon Rapids said and she said SHE COULD GUARANTEE BOLTS WOULD NEVER COME OUT ON THEIR OWN. I asked to see that in writing, she refused of course. I asked if she was saying I purposely removed the bolts myself, she said I must have, they don’t just come out on their own. She gave me the info to file a claim with their insurance company, she is done with it. I got a copy of the report and it said we said that we had been in an accident and the SUV came loose in traffic because we didn’t hook it up right. What the heck, the report I dictated twice and had read back to me, says that? I of course called 5 Uhaul places and told them I wanted to rent a dolly to drive across country and I wanted it guaranteed that it would not come apart, nothing would come loose and to see it go through the 100 point inspection I had heard about from the Des Moines office, when they quit laughing at me they told me things happen, but they always take care of equipment failure. If this is how Uhaul woos a possible corporate account, I’d hate to see how they treat the average customer. So I paid for a dolly that never made it to my destination, paid for the tow to get the broken dolly picked up, paid for the dolly coming apart and damaged two cars in the process. I could file with my car insurance, but after the deductible and my insurance going up it isn’t worth it. I think those guys know that and just stick it to you. It is rather unfortunate for them that I am the internet marketing consultant for my company and have too much free time on my hands.

    • Reyne says:

      You Go Girl! I am proud of you, Misty, for speaking your mind! I also think you should contact an attorney to ensure your damages are paid/reimbursed by U-Haul. So how about this…Only yesterday my husband to be rented a 20′ U-Haul truck from the U-Haul in Kingston, PA. The truck was confirmed via the Mundy Street, Wilkes-Barre PA U-Haul (They actually have excellent service at this particular facility.). Long story short, he also called the Kingston facility and spoke with the woman manager there who confirmed that Yes, they did have a 20′ truck and he could pick it up around 5:30pm. Now in the meantime, he had 4 men waiting at a nearby town to help load the truck with another two men accompanying him while he was picking up the truck–all men were on the clock and being paid. He arrived at the Kingston, PA U-Haul where he met the woman manager and another male worker. Both were rude and unprofessional from start to finish. First, while having a personal conversation, they allowed him to stand and “wait” for 15+ minutes (Men on the clock, mind you!). When they finally did get around to speaking with him, the manager said she had no 20′ truck… this is “after” she told him on the phone not more than an hour prior that she did, in fact, have a 20′ truck. The the other U-Haul employee spoke up and said ohhh, we have a 17′, no, we have a 14′ … ohhh, no we don’t have any trucks…we only have one-way trucks and we can’t rent those out?!? WHAT? Can you tell me what is the sense of having rental trucks if you don’t intend to rent them out? A parking lot full of trucks and they can’t be rented unless you’re only doing a one-way trip? Talk about poor business management. Now, mind you, in the meantime, my HTB is a long-time repeat customer of U-Haul…the woman manager now says to him, “Where are you going with the truck?” I need to know where you are going before I can do anything. He tells her he is going to Pittston (a nearby town) and return the truck tomorrow. She gets ornery and tells him she needs the “exact address” or she cannot rent him a truck. (You know the truck they don’t have and the one-way trucks they cannot rent out?!?) He tells doesn’t have an exact address on him and that in all the years he’s been renting from U-Haul, he has never had to give an exact address of where he intends to go as a requirement for renting a truck. The manager snickers while typing into the computer and says “Oh here it is! I found it!” My HTB says… “How could you find it when I don’t even know it!” In the meantime my HTB’s 2 workers are watching and listening and looking at each other like “What planet is this woman from?” Now that at least 45 minutes have gone by (times our workers pay for “waiting” up to this point) the woman manager continues snickering and acting extremely unprofessional. My HTB says to her “What are you an idiot!” … In turn, she tells him she thinks he should go rent a truck elsewhere! Well, I guess so… we certainly can’t rent a U-Haul truck by dealing with this IDIOT! Story continues…my husband goes back to the Mundy Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA location to inform them of what had just occurred. The “Professional People” at this location reaffirmed that they had, in fact, reserved a 20′ truck for him to be picked up at the Kingston location. It seems the “Professional Employees” at U-Haul are well aware of the IDIOT running this other facility. I really think U-Haul Corporate should be informed of these issues! “Thanks for listening, Misty!” I wish you the best of luck with resolving your issue!

Leave a Reply